Scientific Committee Members

Prof. Chi Ming CHE (Chairman)
The lead PI and Managing Director of the Laboratory, LSCCB

Self Photos / Files - Prof. Chi-Ming Che - I, II, III

Prof. Chi-Ming Che is a Zhou Guangzhao Professor in Natural Sciences and currently the Head of Chemistry Department in The University of Hong Kong.  Prof. Che obtained his BSc (1978) and PhD (1982) degrees from The University of Hong Kong. He is the Directors of State Key Laboratory of Synthetic Chemistry and HKU-CAS Joint Laboratory on New Materials of The University of Hong Kong. He is also the a Director and Deputy President of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong. Prof. Che is an Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (1995), a member of American Chemical Society, a member of Royal Society of Chemistry, International Member (Foreign Assocoate) of National Academy of Sciences, USA (2013) and a Fellow of the Federation of Asian Chemical Societies. He was awarded the Silver Bauhinia Star (2021), the Bronze Bauhinia Star from HKSAR (2014), Luigi Sacconi Medal (2020), 深圳市自然科学一等奖 (2019), Inagural Ryoji Noyori ACES Award (2016) and Centenary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2013). He has published over 1000 scientific papers with a current ISI H-index of 125 and 60,029 times cited excluding self-citations.  As of 2022, 178 PhD have graduated under his great leadership. He has received a number of prestigiously named lectureships including Master Distinguished Lecture at Shanghai Jiao Tong University; Davison Lectureship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Fudan Advisory Professorship at Fudan University, Seaborg Lectureship at UC Berkeley and Julia S. and Edward C. Lee Lectureship at The University of Chicago.  His research interests include Synthetic Chemistry, Metal catalysed Organic Transformations, Organometallic and Inorganic Photochemistry, Chiral Metal Catalysts, Asymmetric Organic Oxidations, Oxidative Functionalization of C=C Bonds, Carbon-Hydrogen Bond Functionalization, Highly Reactive Metal-Carbon, Metal-Oxygen and Metal-Nitrogen Multiple Bonded Complexes, Photophysics and Photochemistry of Luminescent Metal Complexes, Luminescent Molecular Materials, Self-Assembled Nanostructured Materials and Coordination Polymers, Chemical Biology of Traditional Chinese Medicines and Anticancer Metal Medicines.

Prof. Stephen FAULKNER (Member)
Head of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Oxford

Self Photos / Files - steve_faulknerProf. Stephen Faulkner joined The University of Oxford in 2008 and he is currently a Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Associate Head of Department. His major research interests are focused on Synthesis Chemistry, Spectroscopy and Imaging, Responsive Metal Complexes and Exploiting Anisotropy. His research team works on understanding how coordination chemistry can be used to control the chemical and spectroscopic behaviour of the f-elements. Within the group research is focused on developing our fundamental understanding of the properties of the f-elements, and in exploiting this understanding to develop new molecules and methods that can be used in the real world as imaging agents, diagnostics and tools. 


Prof. Faulkner was Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Manchester. He was a Lecturer in Chemistry at the University of Surrey from 1998 to 2001, and he was an Addison Wheeler Fellow in Durham from 1993. Prof. Faulkner did his undergraduate degree in The University of Oxford, followed by a Doctor of Philiosphy on cell calcium in the University of Oxford, Centre for Molecular Sciences, where he was supervised by Josephine Peach, Trevor Powell and Andy Pratt. 


Prof. Faulkner’s work has been recognized by the Corday Morgan Medal (2008) and Bob Hay Lectureship (2009) of the Royal Society of Chemistry, and also as Troisième Cycle Conferencier by the Swiss Chemical Society.

Prof. Hong WU (Member)
Chair Professor and Dean of the School of Life Sciences at Peking University

Self Photos / Files - Prof. Hong WU profile pic

Prof. Hong WU received her medical education from Beijing Medical College in 1983 and her PhD from Harvard Medical School in 1991. After postdoctoral training as a Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell postdoctoral fellow at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, MIT, she joined UCLA as an Assistant Professor in 1996 and was appointed a tenured full Professor in 2005. She was the David Geffen Chair Professor and the Director of the Institute for Molecular Medicine before returning to Peking University in 2013. She is now a Chair Professor and the Dean of the School of Life Sciences, a senior investigator of the Peking-Tsinghua Center for Life Sciences and Shenzhen Bay Laboratory. Among her numerous honors are the Pew Scholar Award and the Howard Hughes Assistant Investigator Award. She is a fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science and an associate member of EMBO.


A major research focus of Prof. Wu’s laboratory is to study the molecular mechanism of PTEN controlled tumorigenesis and signaling pathways. By generating tissue-specific PTEN deficient animal models, Prof. Wu's lab was the first to demonstrate the role of PTEN tumor suppressor in regulating stem cell G0-G1 cell cycle entry, self-renewal, proliferation, survival and in the formation of “cancer stem cell”. These models have been used for investigating the cross-talks between the PI3K pathway and other signaling pathways in tumorigenesis and serve as valuable tools for new drug development for human cancers.

Prof. Vivian Wing-Wah YAM (Member)
Philip Wong Wilson Wong Professor in Chemistry and Energy, The University of Hong Kong

Self Photos / Files - Yam_VWWProf. Yam obtained both her BSc (Hons) and PhD from The University of Hong Kong, and is currently the Philip Wong Wilson Wong Professor in Chemistry and Energy and Chair Professor of Chemistry at The University of Hong Kong. She was elected to Member of Chinese Academy of Sciences, International Member (Foreign Associate) of US National Academy of Sciences, Foreign Member of Academia Europaea, Fellow of TWAS and Founding Member of Hong Kong Academy of Sciences. She was Laureate of the 2011 L'OréalUNESCO For Women in Science Award. She has received a number of awards, including the Josef Michl ACS Award in Photochemistry, RSC Centenary Medal, RSC Ludwig Mond Award, Porter Medal, JPA Eikohsha Award, JSCC International Award, State Natural Science Award, CCS-China Petroleum & Chemical Corporation (Sinopec) Chemistry Contribution Prize, CCS Huang Yao-Zeng Organometallic Chemistry Award, etc. Her research interests include inorganic/organometallic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, photophysics and photochemistry, and metal-based molecular functional materials for sensing, organic optoelectronics and energy research.